Acting in concert with local landowners to enhance conservation, wildlife, and water quality for the benefit of the local community.


Baca County Conservation District

Baca County was the epicenter of the Dust Bowl. In response to that disaster, Congress passed Public Law 46 in 1935 declaring soil and water conservation and wise land-use a national policy. Hugh Hammond Bennett, chief of the original Soil Conservation Service, recognized that local input was vital to the successful implementation of any agriculture agency.

 Colorado Soil Conservation Act (House Bill 258) passed on May 6, 1937. The Western Baca County Soil Erosion District and the Southeast Soil Erosion District were the first conservation districts formed in Colorado on March 5, 1938. In 1941 the Two Buttes Soil Erosion District was formed to address soil erosion and other conservation related issues. The three districts merged in 1982 to form our current conservation district: Baca County Conservation District.

Conservation districts have grown from a history of providing technical assistance to local producers with soil erosion issues, to the modern era of addressing all of the natural resource concerns. Baca County Conservation District bridges the gap between local agriculture producers and various agencies. Our liaison mission is two-fold: to get conservation on the ground and to benefit the local community.

Dust car

27200 US Hwy 287

PO Box 398

Springfield, CO 81073

(719) 523-6251, ext. 3002


Wildlife Escape Ladders

Landscape Fabric


Rabbit Guards

Bamboo Stakes


CoCoRaHS Rain Gauges

Tree Fertilizer Tablets

Grass Drill Rental

Grass Seed 

Noxious Weed Treatment



Noxious Weed Program

Scholarship Program

District Conservation Tech (DCT) Program 

Conservation Stewardship Poster Contest

Conservation Education

District Manager: Mitzi Jett

Weed Tech: Howard Wilson

District Conservation Tech (DCT): Joseph Mort

District Conservation Tech (DCT): Mikayla Sharpe

President: Brian Brooks

Vice President: Dwayne Turner

Secretary/ Treasurer: Beki Schroder

Member: Sheila Smith

Member: Zaylan Konkel


Special Meeting

January 21, 2021

2:30 p.m.

Location:  200 Main Street, Springfield, CO             

1. Call to Order - Brian Brooks, President

2. Approve 2021 Budget - All

3. Executive Session – DM Interviews

4. Discussion

5. Adjourn Meeting